Board of Education Minutes – July 17, 2023

The Organizational meeting of the Board of Education of the Menominee County Intermediate School District was called to order by Presiding Officer Steve Martin at 5:00 pm at the Menominee County ISD, Menominee, Michigan.

The pledge of allegiance was recited.

Members present: Stephanie Meck, Dana Dziedzic, Shirley Johnson, Hunter Mans

Wendy Granquist (attended virtually, did not vote)

Members absent: None

Moved by Mr. Mans supported by Mrs. Meck to approve the agenda as presented. Motion carried unanimously.

Moved by Ms. Dziedzic supported by Mrs. Meck to approve the meeting minutes of June 28, 2023, as presented. Motion carried unanimously.

Mr. Martin provided an opportunity for public comment.

2023-24 Board Reorganization

Nominations for President:

Ms. Dziedzic nominated Mrs. Meck. Moved by Ms. Dziedzic, supported by Mr. Mans to elect Stephanie Meck for President. Motion carried unanimously.

Nominations for Vice-President:

Mrs. Meck nominated Ms. Dziedzic for Vice-President. Moved by Mrs. Meck, supported by Mr. Mans to elect Dana Dziedzic for Vice-President. Motion carried unanimously.

Nominations for Treasurer:

Ms. Dziedzic nominated Mr. Mans for Treasurer. Moved by Ms. Dziedzic, supported by Mrs. Johnson to elect Hunter Mans for Treasurer. Motion carried unanimously.

Nominations for Secretary:

Ms. Dziedzic nominated Mrs. Johnson for Secretary. Moved by Mrs. Dziedzic, supported by Mr. Mans to elect Shirley Johnson for Secretary. Motion carried unanimously.

2023-24 Officers:

President: Stephanie Meck Treasurer: Hunter Mans Vice-President: Dana Dziedzic Secretary: Shirley Johnson

Trustee: Wendy Granquist

Committee appointments by the President:

Finance Committee Mrs. Granquist / Ms. Dziedzic Alternate: Mrs. Meck
Personnel Committee Mr. Mans / Mrs. Johnson Alternate: Mrs. Granquist
Building/Site/Technology Ms. Dziedzic / Mr. Mans Alternate: Mrs. Meck

Services Mrs. Meck / Mrs. Johnson Alternate: Ms. Dziedzic

Moved by Mr. Mans supported by Mrs. Johnson to approve the following:

- 1. Approval of the late June bills, the regular July bills, and the hand-drawn checks for late June and early July.
- 2. Nicolet Bank be named as a Menominee County Intermediate School District depository for 2023-24.
- 3. Thrun Law Firm P.C., be designated as district attorneys for 2023-24.
- 4. Board member attendance at MASB conferences be approved with expenses approved as provided by Board Policy for 2023-24.
- 5. Expenses for the superintendent to attend MASA and MAISA meetings and conferences be approved for 2023-24.
- 6. Mary Stein, Director of Special Education, be designated as Child Find Coordinator for 2023-24.
- 7. Steve Martin, Superintendent, be designated as district Hazardous Materials Coordinator for 2023-24.
- 8. Steve Martin, Superintendent, be designated to sign contracts, checks,
 Agreements, and purchase orders on behalf of the Board according to Board Policy.
- 9. Existing Board Policies as maintained by NEOLA be approved for the 2023-24.
- 10. Steve Martin, Superintendent, be appointed Title I/Age Discrimination/Title IV/Section 504 Coordinator for 2023-24.
- 11. Mary Stein, Director of Special Education, and Steve Martin, Superintendent be designated as the Title IX Coordinators for 2023-24.
- 12. Michigan Liquid Asset Fund (MiLAF) be named a depository for Menominee County ISD funds for 2023-24.
- 13. Janene Salewsky be designated as the person responsible for posting notices of committee and Board of Education meetings.
- 14. The Board President be designated MASB Liaison.
- 15. Jeff Jones be appointed as Truancy Officer for 2023-24.

Motion carried unanimously.

Moved by Mr. Mans supported by Mrs. Johnson to approve the following Board of Education Meeting Dates (Finance Committee Meeting will be held 30 minutes prior to the regular meeting).

DATE	LOCATION	TIME
August 21, 2023	ISD Office	4:30 pm
September 18, 2023	ISD Office	4:30 pm
October 16, 2023	ISD Office	4:30 pm
November 20, 2023	ISD Office	4:30 pm
December 18, 2023	ISD Office	4:30 pm
January 15, 2024	ISD Office	4:30 pm
February 19, 2024	ISD Office	4:30 pm
March 18, 2024	ISD Office	4:30 pm
April 15, 2024	ISD Office	4:30 pm

May 20, 2024	ISD Office	4:30 pm
June 24, 2024	ISD Office	4:30 pm
July 15, 2024	ISD Office	4:30 pm

Motion carried unanimously.

Moved by Ms. Dziedzic supported by Mr. Mans to approve the following Independent Contracts:

- 1. Paul Starzynski, Transportation Supervisor
- 2. Jeff Hallfrisch, Bus Mechanic
- 3. Mary Palmer, Lead Bus Driver
- 4. Cindi Walker, Physical Therapist
- 5. Carol Bergquist, Planner/Monitor
- 6. Joan Freis, Teacher Mentor
- 7. Andy Claes, School Psychologist
- 8. Jim McCarrier, School Psychologist

Motion carried unanimously.

Moved by Mrs. Johnson supported by Ms. Dziedzic to approve the shared GSRP Program Agreement with Stephenson Schools.

Motion carried unanimously.

Mrs. Meck provided an opportunity for public comment.

Adjourned at 5:33 pm.

Shirley Johnson Secretary